T-Mobile Confirms Froyo (Android 2.2) for Galaxy S on December 15th

You heard it here first folks. Complete transcript below:

You have been connected to ~Diane S.
~Diane S: Welcome to T-Mobile Chat service Josh. My name is Diane and for your reference my rep ID is 13-20532. First, please allow me one moment to review the information you have provided.
~Diane S: Hi there Josh, how are you today?
josh knarr: Doing fine
josh knarr: although overtaken by jealousy of my recently upgraded andoid buddies.
~Diane S: I can certainly help you today to see when the 2.2 upgrade for your phone will be coming out.
josh knarr: excellent.
~Diane S: Please allow me 3 minutes to research this for you.
josh knarr: sure.
~Diane S: There is a froyo 2.2 update coming out by Dec 15th, if this is compatible with your phone you will receive a message with regards to this.
josh knarr: It will be available to download immediately?
josh knarr: (immediately on the 15th, anyway?)
~Diane S: Unfortunately, this is all the information I have resources to, you will need to refer to google for this, as they are doing the upgrade.
josh knarr: OK
josh knarr: good enough.
josh knarr: thanks!
~Diane S: Is there anything else I can help you with today?
josh knarr: nope, I’ll look for frodo on the 15h. thanks.

 

6 thoughts on “T-Mobile Confirms Froyo (Android 2.2) for Galaxy S on December 15th

  1. So from your last comment we will be getting our very own Hobbit on the 15th of December??? sweet will he also come with the one ring to rule them all also??? as for this the rest of the article how did you actually get to to chat with a t-mobile rep??? I always have to call them because I can never find a way to chat with, and I hate calling. Thank you “R”

    PS we will see if any of this is true.

  2. Well my New York friend, if you had bothered to click the link (or maybe it’s firewalled at your college, who knows) you would see that you ask the question as part of filling out the form to chat with the rep.

  3. They lied. Just talked to T-Mobile today. They don’t have a clue about release date. Referred me to Samsung’s page that was an ad for the Galaxy & that didn’t mention anything other than the phone was upgradeable.

  4. Here is a copy of my transcript done 5 minutes ago..

    You have been connected to _Ciarra H.
    _Ciarra H: Hi randal , welcome to T-Mobile live Chat. I’m _Ciarra and I will be happy to assist you. Please give me a moment to review your question.
    _Ciarra H: I can definitely understand how important this is to you.
    _Ciarra H: I will be happy to look into this for you.
    _Ciarra H: Regretfully, we do not have any information in regards to the Vibrant getting the 2.2 update.
    _Ciarra H: Even though Google will continue to upgrade the Android O/S and platform version, not all Android devices are eligible to be upgraded to later versions.
    randal morris: so you have no info that vibrant will even get it at all ?
    _Ciarra H: Unfortunately, we not have any information at this time.
    randal morris: thanks
    _Ciarra H: You’re welcome.
    _Ciarra H: Is there anything else we can assist you with today?
    randal morris: not at this time
    _Ciarra H: Thank you for contacting T-Mobile Chat, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

