Amazon Screws Up – Again

This time it’s not wholly their fault, but it did put a damper on thanksgiving. I got a King Kooker as I had posted about before. The King Kooker is nice and it puts out a stupid amount of heat. Heating four gallons of oil takes only a half hour or so and this is running it conservatively. By my guessdimate I could turn it up to jet-engine epic proportions and heat the oil in half the time but there’s a very real possibility of both boiling and burning the oil. Both of these situaitons are bad.

Anyway, King Kooker also lets you buy their accessories. I wasn’t really interested in the entire lobster steaming kit, but I was interested in a fry-basket. The turkey fryer only comes with the turkey tree and it’s priced about the same. The fry basket lets you do boils and… frying things which don’t fit on the turkey tree. Like potatoes. So it’s pretty important. I got mine from UPS last night and of course it showed up and looked like the truck ran over it. Protip – it’s pretty impressive you can crush a metal drum in shipping and not notice it. Anyway, Amazon’s return policy is that if you return an item before the price changes, you can get an exchange. If the price changes (and if you know about Amazon, this happens daily) then you have to take a refund of whatever amount you paid. The nice part – they do UPS pickups. I don’t have to pay to return it. Sadly I’m out the fry basket this thanksgiving but something tells me with this many people coming it won’t matter.

Leave a Reply

