Turkey Fryer

For my birthday and Christmas, people usually give me gift cards to either Cabelas or Northern Brewer. In the spirit of “people have to come to my house because I’ve got a baby”, I bought a turkey fryer with the gift cards this year. I ended up paying only $22 (I had the oil and needed to get propane anyway). But, oh god, the turkey was good. Last night we had a test run of the thing to see how well we did and my folks brought over a turkey. If you’re wondering, it’s a King Kooker. Not the huge one, but the smaller one up to 18lbs turkeys. Reason being that most turkeys at the store are less than 16 lbs so there’s quite a bit of extra room.

The process is dead simple – thaw turkey, bring heat up to 350F, toss turkey in, cook for 3.5 minutes per pound. This actually results in the bird being slightly overdone, so if you want less crispy turkey, knock off a few minutes.

King Kooker also has the Right Stuff for BTUs (plenty) and their kits all have parts you can buy online. So the turkey fryer kit can convert to the steamer kit and can convert to the fry basket kit all by purchasing all their optional accessories. But the most importantly the burner puts out 60k BTUs and the stand will accept my brew pot for boiling beer.

And the turkeys?

This was the first time we’ve ever had turkey in my family and there weren’t a ton of leftovers no-one wanted to eat in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

