Spending Too Much at my Favorite Place

I got the bow in the mail. Note to everyone buying shit on ebay, it pays to raise hell with the postal service. The tracking invoice said that the box went from Hodgkins to Houstin Texas, but then vanished.

I complained after 10 business days and suddenly the box turned up and it moved along. Coincidence? Probably, since we’re dealing with the government. However I felt good complaining.

Now I support local businesses entirely, but there’s something to be said for buying from Big Archery because they have something the little guys don’t: Selection. Since I’m a lefty, I needed to be able to feel up the sights and whatnot. I went to all the local archery shops and none of them had anything left handed. Or they wanted to sell me a package for $600. $600 buys me a very nice rifle, not a bow and arrow. It was way too expensive. Off to Cabeleas where I found out my gift card was no good. But they had everything I needed, and in stock. Also a quick note – don’t buy from these guys what you can get at walmart. It’s 1/3rd of the price at walmart.

I had a bow, it was a High Country Archery Supreme (2004). I needed an arrow rest, arrows, points, I had a release with the bow, and I bought a bow sight (three pin). Also a generic rear peep sight. All in all I spent about $150-ish outfitting this bow. The good part about all this is that if I ever buy another bow (not likely) it will all transfer over. Also those links are informative, they aren’t what I bought exactly. Like I said, buy whatever you can at walmart and buy the rest from a real store.

But that’s not all!

Cabelas has clothes, which is cute, but they also have a cafe and casual clothing section. The cafe was great since we got elk buger (judging by how the kid kicks he likes elk burgers too). Elk is to die for, I wish I could pull a special permit in PA and eat that all year. Onion rings are good also.

The kids clothes are cute, especially the young kids clothes. We got a hat, booties, a jumper, and a shirt or two. I’ll have to post pictures if our kid is cute enough.

Leave a Reply

