Lymes Disease!

Me and the Doctor are pretty sure I got lyme’s disease again.

I had been feeling crappy all last week as I wrote down. I figured it was a combination of working myself to death and exposure to chemicals. A few nights ago I commented to Kelly, “Gee, this toothpaste makes my mouth go numb!” We didn’t think anything of it and I went to bed. The next morning I woke up and realized I couldn’t feel half my face. Uh oh, Bell’s Palsy. For those not in the know, it’s when your nerves become inflamed and lose communication. And what causes our nerves to become inflamed? Lyme’s disease. Suddenly, it wasn’t an issue of being run down, it was an issue of losing the battle yet again to the common deer tick.

Lymes is particularly fun. There’s ongoing debate as to if it really exists or if it’s just a manifestation of other diseases. (If your doctor says it doesn’t exist, find a new doctor). There’s also the camp that says, “Well, just check yourself for ticks!” Avoid these people too. Surely the transmission vector is a tick bite, but I’m in the camp that once you have it, you have it forever. The flesh generally keeps it in check, but once the immune system takes a crash, those little buggers can come right back. Case in point – my first bout of it we did find the tick. The other two bouts were complications of being totally worn out or otherwise having another medical problem. Thankfully the cure (antibody cocktail) doesn’t conflict with anything else, so treating it is easy.

Right now the palsy is playing havoc with the 7th and 8th spinal nerves(?) and results in numbness and weird texture effects with food. I wouldn’t call it synesthesia but it’s close where flavors have textures food critics wouldn’t normally assign. I didn’t realize how grabby pasta was on my palette until I didn’t have my sense of taste on half my tongue. The good news is that the methylprednisolone I’m on is rapidly improving things. However the cure is worst than the disease – I went from numbness to pins and needles as the nerves get unpinched and start sending signals back.

Lymes titer will be back in a week and then the doctor can figure out what delicious cocktail of antibiotics to put me on. In the mean time I’ve been told to quit turning wrenches or doing work which might re-inflame my tissues.

Ah well, at least one of the days when I got 10 hours of sleep I felt good enough to work on the car. If anyone is wondering how I got all the tree crap off: Cyclo’s No. 7 car wash. Buy yourself a soft bristle brush if you’re going to use it, since the sponge isn’t going to motivate much off the car.

This is the cleaned up MR2

This is the cleaned up MR2

8 thoughts on “Lymes Disease!

  1. Looks like you should be wearing a a respirator with volatile organic cartidge, if you are using solvents.

    You can often decrease the pins and needles pain, using increased doses of folic acid and Vitamin B12.
    The pins and needles nerve pain, often results when the fatty myelin insulating sheath around nerves becomes demethylated. Folic acid, Vitamin B12 and SAMe all increase methylation.

    Sometimes injecting Vitamin B12, even when B12 serum level is at 2,000, can reduce the pins and needles pain.

    The best Lymes treatment we have seen is the massive Vitamin C infusion, described by Thomas Levy, in Curing the Incurable. It has worked incredibly well for one of our Lymes patients who could barely walk, when he began treatment. Of course we added B vitamins and Magnesium Sulfate to the Vitamin C IV. Amazingly, his Herxheimer dieoff, during the Vitamin C IV was limited to nausea.

    Herpes Simplex can also hibernate in the trigeminal nerve and flare up, intermittently. Fortunately, Vitamin c can destroy the Herpes virus.

    You might also want to try a prescription transdermal cream with clonidine, 0.4 percent, ketamine 10 percent, and Gabapentin, 4 percent, on the affected cheek. It considerably reduced neuropathy, in one of our Lymes patients.

    Steven Sponaugle
    Research Director
    Florida Detox and Wellness Institute
    http://www.floridadetox.com

    • Right now they had me on methylprednisolone for the nerves in a step down pack. The stuff works wonders, it took care of the pins and needles within a day and cleared up the palsy also for the most part. Still a small touch of that.

      For lymes itself (and I would strongly recommend this versus “just vitamins”), I got doxycycline and that’s pretty much The Standard for Lymes and a host of other diseases caused by small worms and whatnot. The only downside is that it’s 21 days of low grade nausea, but it’s better than nerve damage.

      Thanks for the tips.

  2. Hi my name is ashley and my doctor and I are sure I have lymes. I’ve cheered for quite a while and was planning on trying out again this year. Good idea or big no no? Let me know, I’d sure appreciate it

    • So long as you’re not cheering in the middle of the forest, you’re probably OK.

      I got lymes first when I was 16 or so, I haven’t had another bout of it until now and it’s been over 10 years.

  3. I did the doxycycline and the pins and needles sensation in my legs and feet came back. I had a bladder infection and started drinking lots of cranberry juice. To my happy surprise it also helped the pins and needles sensations to clear up. The cranberry juice turns your blood acidic which kills the bacteria. It also helps to stay away from sugar and carbs while taking the cranberry juice. The bacteria feed on carbohydrates. It only takes about a week so it’s not too bad. I heard on the news that the cranberry juice also keeps your teeth from getting cavities too. Better to get the pure cranberry juice at a health food store. Do not get cranberry juice mixed with apple juice. They say vinegar works too since it is acidic as well. I think the cranberry juice works best.
    Dorie

  4. I tried the organic cranberry caps. and organic cranberry juice. I use about an ounce of the juice in 7oz. distilled water with minerals and trace minerals. I have chronic lyme for 36 years, it destroyed my life. I felt better in one hour and now it has been a week and I feel really good and all the aches and pains are slowly fading away. I know cranberry gets rid of viruses because it is slippery and the viruses can’t hold on. The acid kills the bacteria because bacteria can’t exist in acid. So there you are and it only took me 36 years to find the cure.

Leave a Reply

